Chemistry -> ChemEng with MSc/PGDip? Watch

addylad
Badges: 16
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 5 years ago
Hi all

I'm studying a BSc (Hons) Natural Sciences with the Open University, and hoping for at least a 2:1. When I finish, I'd like to go into chemical engineering. Fortunately my degree is chemistry-based and my job involves a bit of process chemistry, so I'm not completely clueless.

I was considering using an MSc in Chemical Engineering/Process Design as a way into the field, but I would like to ask:
- How difficult is the work and would I have any trouble with some of the chem eng content, as I have not studied at undergrad level?
- Would you recommend a PGDip/graduate diploma in chem eng to give me the grounding in the engineering aspects? (One is undergrad level - this is the one I'm talking about.) Or should I go straight for the MSc?
- How would you recommend approaching an application for a post-grad course so that the chemistry background is not seen as an issue?

Many thanks in advance. My career depends on this route!

Posted from TSR Mobile
Cora Lindsay
Badges: 10
Rep:
?
Report 5 years ago
(Original post by addylad)
Hi all

I'm studying a BSc (Hons) Natural Sciences with the Open University, and hoping for at least a 2:1. When I finish, I'd like to go into chemical engineering. Fortunately my degree is chemistry-based and my job involves a bit of process chemistry, so I'm not completely clueless.

I was considering using an MSc in Chemical Engineering/Process Design as a way into the field, but I would like to ask:
- How difficult is the work and would I have any trouble with some of the chem eng content, as I have not studied at undergrad level?
- Would you recommend a PGDip/graduate diploma in chem eng to give me the grounding in the engineering aspects? (One is undergrad level - this is the one I'm talking about.) Or should I go straight for the MSc?