The Student Room Group

Maths or engineering?

Hi all, I'll try to keep this short.
Basically for a really long time I have been focused on maths maths maths, at uni, beyond, just maths all the time. However recently I've realised that I'm not that good at the things that I need to be good at - mainly the maths challenge/olympiad style entrance test questions, which is obviously important to get into a good university.
So I've started considering engineering, my parents are both engineers so I know what it involves, and I think it would have more of a practical application than a maths degree (or maybe I'm wrong) but I do have to make my mind up soon and i can't decide!
Has anyone been in a similar situation? What should I do?

Posted from TSR Mobile

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
Bump :frown:

I genuinely need some advice, please!

Posted from TSR Mobile
(edited 10 years ago)
Reply 2
Do you do further maths?
Reply 3
I do maths, further maths, chemistry, physics and history :smile:

Posted from TSR Mobile
Reply 4
Original post by marinajelly
I do maths, further maths, chemistry, physics and history :smile:

Posted from TSR Mobile

Is this AS? And how are you finding FM?
Is there anyone at your school who you could ask for advice?
Reply 6
Original post by ninuzu
Is this AS? And how are you finding FM?

Yep, AS, and I really enjoy it - I'm good at the exam content I just can't do the 'olympiad' type questions :frown:

Posted from TSR Mobile
Reply 7
Hi all, I'll try to keep this short.
Basically for a really long time I have been focused on maths maths maths, at uni, beyond, just maths all the time. However recently I've realised that I'm not that good at the things that I need to be good at - mainly the maths challenge/olympiad style entrance test questions, which is obviously important to get into a good university.