The Student Room Group
Student at University of Edinburgh
University of Edinburgh

American choosing between Edinburgh and Manchester

Hello, I have been accepted to both Edinburgh and Manchester. I am an international student, and will be unable to visit either of these universities. Does anyone know which one is more prestigious? The course I've been accepted to at Edinburgh is: Spanish & Politics(unconditional) and i am still waiting to hear back about International Relations. At Manchester, I've received conditional offers for: Business studies and politics, as well as International relations & politics.

I know that both are top-notch uni's, but I am unsure of which one is better recognized internationally. Also, in terms of night life which one is better? What kind of night life activities are available? I am looking for an atmosphere with lots of bars and clubs, and shopping.

Thank you!
Original post by Burke95
Hello, I have been accepted to both Edinburgh and Manchester. I am an international student, and will be unable to visit either of these universities. Does anyone know which one is more prestigious? The course I've been accepted to at Edinburgh is: Spanish & Politics(unconditional) and i am still waiting to hear back about International Relations. At Manchester, I've received conditional offers for: Business studies and politics, as well as International relations & politics.

I know that both are top-notch uni's, but I am unsure of which one is better recognized internationally. Also, in terms of night life which one is better? What kind of night life activities are available? I am looking for an atmosphere with lots of bars and clubs, and shopping.

Thank you!