The Student Room Group

German law student needs some help

So...

I am a postgraduate law student in germany and I have to solve a case by english law.

I already got the general idea behind this but I lack the proper sources of law.

here is the case in short form:
- A sells a car to B with a ROT clause.
- Under unknown circumstances(i guess they want to say it's not stolen) the car shows up at C's shop
- D buys the car in C's shop and uses the car since then.
- B goes bankrupt without having paid A for his car
- D bought the car with good faith but without getting the V5C

So the question is: who is the owner of the car?

So from what i've learned so far:

- ROT clause is valid. Property does not transfer to B -> romalpa jugdement + SoG Act 1979 s. 19
- There is a possibility of a bona fide purchase. Requirements are met, i guess (Didn't find any quotable source of law. Just wikipedia and random websites)
- V5C is not a proof of ownership. ( No quotable source of law)

open questions: Can you purchase a car in good faith without getting the V5C? (In germany you can't)

thanks in advance for your help

feel free to ask me about german law
Hi there,

While you're waiting for an answer, did you know we have 300,000 study resources that could answer your question in TSR's Learn together section?

We have everything from Teacher Marked Essays to Mindmaps and Quizzes to help you with your work. Take a look around.

If you're stuck on how to get started, try creating some resources. It's free to do and can help breakdown tough topics into manageable chunks. Get creating now.

Thanks!

Not sure what all of this is about? Head here to find out more.
Reply 2
Original post by ffjeden
So...

I am a postgraduate law student in germany and I have to solve a case by english law.

I already got the general idea behind this but I lack the proper sources of law.

here is the case in short form:
- A sells a car to B with a ROT clause.