My teacher is pretty bad, is there any advice how I teach myself the subject. Watch

mctruffle
Badges: 10
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 6 years ago
Hey, I'm currently studying a2 history. My teacher from last year retired and my new teacher is nowhere nearly as good. I've finished one module of the course and I honestly feel as if I've learnt nothing and that I have no idea what to revise/ answer exam questions. I am going to start self teaching the subject by reading around the various topics and making my own revision notes for the exams.

I did well at history last year getting an A and ideally I would like to do the same again this year. Advice from others who have self-taught a subject would be appreciated.

Thank you
Ripper-Roo
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report 6 years ago
Report her to your head teacher/governors, get your parents to complain? This isn't on

Download past papers and examiners reports, buy a revision guide for your topic, do you have any friends in your class you'd be happy to discuss the subject with and test each other, mark each others papers etc. You can't be the only one feeling like this
AndrewGrace
Badges: 6
Rep:
?
Report 6 years ago
which topic would you be self-teaching?, also does this particular exam board have a coursework module? (if so may require external marking)

The course textbook is always a good place to start, but do acquire other textbooks and additional reading aswell

Get the past papers and do the questions and get your teacher to mark them (if not post them on here and someone will mark them (plenty of ex-A-level/University students are capable of doing so)
AndrewGrace
Rep:
?
Report 6 years ago
Also personally unless instructed to peer-mark as part of an in class exercise, i would avoid doing so as often peer-marking becomes very subjective and elements of the mark scheme are misunderstood
Sapphirez50
Rep:
?
Report 6 years ago