The Student Room Group

Requesting some much needed uni application advice.

Hi there,

Sorry if this is the wrong forum but I'm new to TSR.
I'll try to make this quick.

- I didn't apply to uni last year because I wasn't sure of what I wanted to do.
- I now know that I really love maths and wish to study it at a degree level.
- I finished my a-levels in june and received BBC in Maths, French and Psychology (my UCAS points total is 360)
- In my units for maths I received AAAABD. If I retake the D, I am confident that I can receive an A and possibly an A*. I am also fairly confident in being able to retake french and get and A in that.
- I have done no research into different courses. (I know that this is really really bad).
- I got a stellar reference from my tutor last year that I can use.
- I am currently taking a gap year and working to fill the time and save money.
- I am also interested in looking at courses which incorporate french or computer science.

I'm not sure where to start, I haven't even drafted a personal statement yet.

My questions are:
How do I go about looking for courses?
Should I bother applying to courses with higher entry requirements than my current grades?
Is maths worth applying to with only BBC?
Does anyone have any suggestions for courses at my level?

I am really screwed. I would really appreciate any time anyone could spare to help me out.

Thank you so so so much!
Reply 1
Maths is competitive, you should either apply to a numerical subject thats not math and less competitive, or look at mid rankings universities. Or retake all your A levels and hope to get at least AAB and then you can look at top 30 universities.
Reply 2
Original post by LumpyAgenda
Hi there,

Sorry if this is the wrong forum but I'm new to TSR.
I'll try to make this quick.

- I didn't apply to uni last year because I wasn't sure of what I wanted to do.
- I now know that I really love maths and wish to study it at a degree level.