The decision: Exeter or Durham? Watch

pagerfat
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 5 years ago
Hi everyone,

I'm a foreign student planning to study Msc Management for international business. I've got offers from Exeter and Durham. To make a decision from the two schools, I hope to know your opinions in terms of reputation, learning environment as well as teaching quality of the two schools.

Thank you so much!
RussellG
Badges: 6
Rep:
?
Report 5 years ago
Reputation wise, Durham itself is better than Exeter. Durham is arguably one of the top 10 whereas Exeter is one of the top 20.
But the management subject is less popular because of geographical location (far distance from London).

Learning environment in Durham I think is also better than Exeter because it has a better student/staff ratio.
Durham also has a better national/world/business school ranking positions.

For me it looks there is a clear hierarchical relationship between them.
bacpg
Rep:
?
Report 5 years ago
I was at Exeter for undergrad and am now moving up to Durham for PG - as was said Durham is better academically, although Exe is also good and improving - it also has a ton of brand new facilities which they've done a good job on (finished last year or two). I'd honestly consider more however the other sides of the places when coming as an international student. I went abroad during my undergrad and would advise looking more at the cultural/travelling/networking opportunities than the 'raw' academic situation in the University (after all, it is where you are coming from who stamp your degree!)