The Student Room Group

Help with postgraduate statements

Hi all.
I am an undergraduate student and I just applied for two Masters course in the UK.
I did not use UCAS or UKPASS and I sent my 2 postgraduate Personal statements personally, statements that are pretty the same (because the 2 courses are really similar).

Can I have problems with plagiarism or something similar?

Thank you
Reply 1
I shouldn't think plagiarism will be a problem. If the two courses are in the same department there might be questions about which you'd really commit to, but if they're at different universities, then they'll never see the other statement.

As you've found, the majority of UK Masters courses don't go through a central system. Most operate their own independent postgrad application process and they don't cross-reference with each other.
Reply 2
Original post by Klix88
I shouldn't think plagiarism will be a problem. If the two courses are in the same department there might be questions about which you'd really commit to, but if they're at different universities, then they'll never see the other statement.

As you've found, the majority of UK Masters courses don't go through a central system. Most operate their own independent postgrad application process and they don't cross-reference with each other.

Thank you for your post.
The two courses are at different universities (and cities), but I was worried because I didn't know if they could do a plagiarism check without the help of UKPASS.
By the way, it seems that now I can use this statement even for the last application I have to do. :smile:

Sorry for my bad english
How is it plagiarism? You haven't copied anything, you just printed your own words and sent it out.

If you wrote a great book, would you have to send a different version to every publisher?

Actually. Just mega LOL at the plagiarism worry.

But good luck anyway! :biggrin:

Posted from TSR Mobile
Original post by Ravenok
Hi all.