The Student Room Group

A career in human rights law - please help!

I am currently a third year student studying a degree in Pure Mathematics at a University that isn't that great (though I have been predicted a first class hons). I've always wanted to have a career in law but didn't want to study law at an average university as the field is highly competitive, and so am planning to do the conversion course once I have completed my degree.

I understand that the competition for GDL is also quite high. I wanted to ask if anyone could advise me on what sort of work experience I should pick up before I write my application? What else is there that I can do to ensure that I get a career in human rights law?

Also in addition I was planning to travel for a few months - is there any experience I could gain abroad and how would that help?

Anyone that has gone through any sort of relevant experience to this is very welcome to contribute and give me some advice.

Thank you! :smile:
Reply 1
The competition for the GDL is not high, simply write a cheque and the place is yours in most cases.

There sren't really 'human right lawyers;, possibly at the Bar, just that many lawyers, in different fields, will sometimes advance a Human Rights argument.
Reply 2
Original post by Le Nombre
The competition for the GDL is not high, simply write a cheque and the place is yours in most cases.

Completely agree with this. :yep:

OP, If you go to a GDL/LPC provider and say that you have no experience, a 3rd class degree, but a cheque for the fees, they will welcome you with open arms. I wouldn't worry at all about applying for the GDL.

The competitive part of making a career in law is getting through the initial bottleneck of obtaining a training contract/pupillage (depending on whether you want to be a solicitor or barrister respectively).