The Student Room Group

Can I Retake My Final Year After My 2:2?

I'm a mature student and didn't screw around. I worked four jobs and studied full time. My final grade was 2:2 but until my third year I was on path for a First. I had materials stolen and project work vandalised, all of which is on record at the university... I'm Police Staff now and would like to complete an MSc, but do find options limited... Any advice here?
(edited 10 years ago)
Reply 1
How long ago was your final year?

I have a few friends, who by their own admission didn't try their hardest in their last year and came out with a 2:2, so straight away repeated the year, some with 2:1 and others getting a 1st. I guess you would need to contact the uni you went to and see if this is possible?
Reply 2
Original post by RWM1974
I'm a mature student and didn't screw around. I worked four jobs and studied full time. My final grade was 2:2 but until my third year I was on path for a First. I had materials stolen and project work vandalised, all of which is on record at the university... I'm Police Staff now and would like to complete an MSc, but do find options limited... Any advice here?

First advice would be to learn to live with the 2:2 or drive yourself mad for the rest of your life. You should have submitted to the uni for mitigating circumstances at the time. Either you didn't, or you did and they were rejected. Certainly a retake of the third year in that situation wouldn't be entertained at my current uni once the final result was declared, but it's up to the individual organisation. Only the uni can tell you, so you need to ask them direct.