Unsure about science and medicine Watch

allofthat
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 5 years ago
I am currently a second-year medical student in Belgium; as we're on a 6-year curriculum this means I'm still in my preclinical years, studying physiology/pathophysiology/...

I basically went into medicine out of scientific interest. Before I started the course I thought that a doctor is someone who knows exactly how the human body works (normally and in diseases) and applies that knowledge to diagnose and treat people. In other words - I thought that the so called basic sciences were the most important part of the knowledge needed for clinical practice.

Now in second year I've had some exposure (still very little though, just a few 'clinical lectures') to clinical knowledge and I found out that it seems to be much less scientific than I thought it was. It seems as though a big part of medicine comes down to memorizing the etiology, symptoms, diagnosis and treatment of diseases and recalling that information at the correct moment, instead of applying physiology/biochemistry/pathophysiology/... to patient cases. Is this so, or am I just deceived by these basic 'clinical lectures' and does clinical medicine actually involve science and scientific thinking? How scientific is medicine really?

Dropping out of the course is not an option because I'm really enjoying it up to now - but I'm unsure because I keep on hearing about people who hate the pre-clinical course and want to get through it just to reach clinicals; I'm afraid to be the opposite. But since I haven't had any clinical exposure yet - and will have close to none until 5th year due to the structure of our course - I would also probably regret not having given clinical medicine a chance if I dropped out now. That's why I don't really know what to do.
Dr. Django
Badges: 12
Rep:
?
Report 5 years ago
if you're enjoying it, stick with it for now
smd4std
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report 5 years ago