m_ew
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 7 years ago
Hi,
I'm an Access to HE student that's struggling with the following questions that will be on my exams in mid-January. I'd really appreciate any help/ideas or just a point in the right sort of direction.

1. Explain why tissues are regarded aggregations of similar cells

Is this just because tissues are made up of cells performing similar functions?

2. Explain how the sequence of nucleotides within a gene is used to construct a polypeptide/protein

3. Explain how the structure of a biological macromolecule is related to its properties and influences its functions
I understand the structure and functions of, e.g. carbohydrates and proteins but I don't know how to explain why the structure influences what it does.
Dynamo123
  • Study Helper
Badges: 7
Rep:
?
Report 7 years ago
(Original post by m_ew)
Hi,
I'm an Access to HE student that's struggling with the following questions that will be on my exams in mid-January. I'd really appreciate any help/ideas or just a point in the right sort of direction.

1. Explain why tissues are regarded aggregations of similar cells

Is this just because tissues are made up of cells performing similar functions?

2. Explain how the sequence of nucleotides within a gene is used to construct a polypeptide/protein

3. Explain how the structure of a biological macromolecule is related to its properties and influences its functions
I understand the structure and functions of, e.g. carbohydrates and proteins but I don't know how to explain why the structure influences what it does.
1. Yes and no. Tissues are formed by cells aggregating together through a LOT of adhesions (like cell-cell and cell matrix and others). I once wrote a treatise on it, which you can find here, but don't study it in detail unless you really want to understand how cells are integrated into tissues.