BP petrol vs esso petrol Watch

This discussion is closed.
blue n white army
Badges: 16
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 5 years ago
Ive heard there is a difference between branded petrol and supermarket petrol but I was just wondering if there was a difference between esso and bp.

Ive been using BP petrol for a few months as its right next to work and I can get nectar. Around the time I started getting BP petrol my car developed an engine judder when it was cold and I wasnt using the accelerator I also noticed my mpg was a bit lower. Initially I put this down to the fact that I'd just bought the car, the judder I thought was because I bought a lemon and the mpg I assumed id got confident with my new car and started to put my foot down a bit more.

Yesterday I topped up with esso petrol (the first lot of non bp fuel in months) and im finding it much easier to hit the higher mpgs and I've not had a single engine judder normally I would expect a total of around 10times for the three journeys ive done.

Im just wondering if ive completely made up with relationship in my head or if theres something in it.

FYI I drive a 53plate 1.2 punto
IntriguedUser
Badges: 10
Rep:
?
Report 5 years ago
Not sure, I do know that 97 is better than 95, much smoother.
naman
Badges: 14
Rep:
?
Report 5 years ago
there shouldn't be such a difference between the two. it may only be worth going for big brands like bp in high performance cars which will make most use of it rather than a 1.2 punto. supermarket petrol should be just as good in my opinion, saves money too.
Nuffles
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report 5 years ago
Fifth Gear or similar did a test on various different cars and I think they found that with a standard car different petrols (supermarket, brand name, expensive brand name, "ultimate" or similar) had absolutely so effect. You're better off sticking with the cheap stuff for most cars.
1992LP
Badges: 17
Rep:
?
Report 5 years ago