Best (if is one) route into teaching between; Degree with qts or degree then PGCE? Watch

bethrellim
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 6 years ago
Hello! I'm currently studying at Edge Hill Uni doing an English degree. I've just done my first semester and other than the awful parking situation, the uni is really nice I've wanted to go into teaching since AS in college, doing my work exp was so fun! I'm just wondering what is actually the best route into it? There are a lot of cliches attached to this question such as 'do whatever route is best for you' but is that really the case? Sometimes when researching this online I see the degree with qts is more common in primary teaching, whereas a degree then pgce is more common in secondary. I was intending to do my degree then a pgce, but that's ANOTHER year to wait until im employed, and ANOTHER 9,000k debt along with other student finances - im bored of exams and assessments, im bored of living at home with my mum, I want to get my hands stuck in! So if anyone can tell me if going into secondary education looks better with a degree and pgce, or the latter? I've applied to do Secondary Education English with QTS at Edge Hill, I have an interview in 2 weeks time!

Thanks!
lozzielizzie
Badges: 14
Rep:
?
Report 6 years ago
Depends on person, you get far more time to learning teaching on a undergrad teaching degree. Am on one for physical education and it's majority about teaching and subject knowledge. We get four placement over the fours years. One of my lecturer said it's the best route too take too get into teaching. The thing is I get four years to learn to teach than those on PGCE who only have a year too get it right.

Posted from TSR Mobile
myblueheaven339
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report 6 years ago
(Original post by bethrellim)