Relativism Watch

figuresk8rstudent
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 5 years ago
Who finds this argument persuasive?

I personally don't as I find it hard to believe, in one person's lifetime, they do not inhibit any objective opinions that may arise and that all is subjective.

What do you think are the dangers of relativism?

I think if the treatment of a person, who has murdered someone for no reason, is decided upon a person's own ruling of murders is rather scary.

Thoughts appreciated. Ps I'm very new to learning about Ethics :-D

Posted from TSR Mobile
Nashiboy123
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report 5 years ago
relativism is ok when one has not yet come across the objective truth, but there are overwhelming truths [although they may not be decisive without divine revelation] that is generally accepted by everyone and people should adhere to them, such as murder is wrong
Jebedee
Badges: 17
Rep:
?
Report 5 years ago
Logic goes out of the window completely with relativism.
StarvingAutist
Badges: 17
Rep:
?
Report 5 years ago
Relativism is pretty accurate. Though some kind of ethics must be genetic; natural selection etc.
uberteknik
  • Study Helper
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 5 years ago
Ewwwwwww. Jiggy-jiggy with your cousins is just wrong. :borat:
Harolinho
Badges: 7
Rep:
?
Report 5 years ago
(Original post by uberteknik)
Ewwwwwww. Jiggy-jiggy with your cousins is just wrong. :borat:
Tell that to the 19 States of America in which first-cousin marriage is legally acceptable.

(Original post by StarvingAutist)
Relativism is pretty accurate. Though some kind of ethics must be genetic; natural selection etc.
Sure, but then everyone's genetics are different and if ethics may stem from the genetics of an individual then naturally genetic inputs into the morality of individuals is entirely relative.

(Original post by Jebedee)
Logic goes out of the window completely with relativism.
Care to expand upon this statement?

(Original post by Nashiboy123)