The Student Room Group

Getting a 2:1 but having less than 300 UCAS points?

I'm still in first year at uni but I was just having a look at internship programmes and graduate schemes and every one of them wanted at least a 2:1 AND at least 300 UCAS points.

I have 296 UCAS points, so even if I got a 2:1 I couldn't get in a graduate scheme?:confused:

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
I'm sure 4 ums points wouldn't be that big a deal tbh
Reply 2
Depends what you're looking for. The public sector grad schemes I've looked at don't have any A-Level requirements

Posted from TSR Mobile
Reply 3
Original post by euphful
Depends what you're looking for. The public sector grad schemes I've looked at don't have any A-Level requirements

Posted from TSR Mobile

So you're a mandarin.
Unlucky, some mind. Some dont. 300 is really the benchmark for most graduate jobs.
Reply 5
Original post by Mr_Vain
So you're a mandarin.

Not just civil service lol.

I did an Access course (before starting Politics at Nottingham), which isn't even on the UCAS table (yet), so public sector grad schemes are the only thing I've really looked at for that reason :smile:...

Posted from TSR Mobile
Reply 6
Original post by euphful
Not just civil service lol.

I did an Access course (before starting Politics at Nottingham), which isn't even on the UCAS table (yet), so public sector grad schemes are the only thing I've really looked at for that reason :smile:...

Posted from TSR Mobile

You mean grad schemes in the private sector don't accept access course qualifications even if you actually did the degree at Nottingham? That is a bit harsh tbf.
Reply 7
Original post by Mr_Vain
You mean grad schemes in the private sector don't accept access course qualifications even if you actually did the degree at Nottingham? That is a bit harsh tbf.