Confused about passing Watch

Laura1234567890
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 5 years ago
So I'm in my first year of uni and need to pass each module to progress to next year

I don't know if it's different in other unis but here it's 40% to pass

In one subject an essay makes up 50% of my mark and an exam makes up 50%

I just found out I got 68% in my essay so that's good, 2 marks off a first but I'm not confident about the exam

So my question is, if I failed my exam, say I got about 35% would the module still be counted as a pass because I got 68% in my essay?

Thank you!

x
feathered-soul
Badges: 9
Rep:
?
Report 5 years ago
It depends form uni to uni. Some will say that you must have over 40% in every exam/assignment, some just want 40% overall on the course or module. They'll probably have a limit of how low a mark you can get before you're made to retake the exam, year or be asked to leave. My uni wants 40% overall with 30% or above in every module. Getting 25% or less is counted as basically not attempting the exam/assignment and then you could potentially be asked to leave.

Read your course/uni booklet or email your tutor if you're unsure.
SlowlorisIncognito
Badges: 16
Rep:
?
Report 5 years ago
It depends on the university. You should be provided with this information, probably in your handbook.