The Student Room Group

Your near misses?

I've been driving for 2 months now and have near missed 3 times so far.

First time was at rush hour 5pm and it was dark, I was crossing the road when all of sudden a little kid appears out of nowhere in the middle of the road, I forgot to slam my brakes but the kid swerved and kept on running like nothing, I then got out to check and he ran off. :angry: I was only going 5mph, thank god for that. Lesson learnt to use brakes and will try to prevent driving at rush hour again.

Secondly I was going uphill in a narrow street and there was a taxi coming down, I thought he would give me way as it's the norm to give way for cars going uphill, so I got in the middle to pass the cars on the side and at the same time the taxi c*nt came in middle causing me to brake and stall. I honked at him and rolled my window down swearing at him, he looked at me as if he's seen a ghost and drove off. Ever since I hate taxi drivers, I also realized they never indicate and try to squeeze in the lane and cause obstruction.

Third which happened today was my fault, I was going straight the road and decided to do a U turn, so moved to left without indicating and then steered to right without looking from behind, and there was a car coming, I was like in the middle of the road, so both of slammed brakes at the same time and I looked at him and he was just like normal, he just smiled as if it's okay and let me complete my manoeuvre.

What are your silly mistakes that almost caused you crash?
They all seem like it was your fault lol
Reply 2
Original post by h4mza
I've been driving for 2 months now and have near missed 3 times so far.