Cambridge maths application, post STEP examinations?

Watch
ManUtdFan1990
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 6 years ago
Just wanted an opinion, on applying to Cambridge after taking the STEP examinations? I'm a mature student. Currently finishing off A levels in Further Maths and Further Additional Mathematics, having already an A* in Mathematics, in hand. I plan on taking the STEP exams this summer. How would this affect an application, if I were to achieve a grade, similar to a typical Cambridge offer? Would this be looked on favourably. Also as a side question, are my A-Level choices too narrow? Too much maths, and nothing else to compliment that? All self taught.
davros
  • Study Helper
Badges: 16
Rep:
?
Report 6 years ago
(Original post by ManUtdFan1990)
Just wanted an opinion, on applying to Cambridge after taking the STEP examinations? I'm a mature student. Currently finishing off A levels in Further Maths and Further Additional Mathematics, having already an A* in Mathematics, in hand. I plan on taking the STEP exams this summer. How would this affect an application, if I were to achieve a grade, similar to a typical Cambridge offer? Would this be looked on favourably. Also as a side question, are my A-Level choices too narrow? Too much maths, and nothing else to compliment that? All self taught.
I'm not sure there's an "official" answer to this, and relatively few applicants have this background so I don't think statistics or anecdotes are necessarily helpful, but broadly speaking I would say:

Pros
====
For Cambridge Maths, subject choice doesn't need to be broad - Maths, Maths and More Maths is perfectly acceptable, as is Maths, Further Maths, Physics or Maths, Further Maths, anything else. If you're applying for other unis then their viewpoints may be different, but I would expect Cambridge to be more 'flexible' on this.