The Student Room Group

Recommend me a civilization strategy game - like Age of Empires

Basically, I used to play Age of Empires quite a few years ago. But haven't really played any strategy game since then. Then I started playing the Clash of Clans on my friends IPad now i'm kind of addicted again.

So, could someone recommend me game like this.

Preferablly one that doesn't depend on who spends the most real money. So I guess a game that you buy out right.

Also, I'd like a game that takes on other online users.

Scroll to see replies

On PC or iOS?

If the former, I still love Rise of Nations.

Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk
Reply 2
Original post by mikeyd85
On PC or iOS?

If the former, I still love Rise of Nations.

Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk

Ríse of Legends as well, the fantasty versíon :biggrin:
Basically, I want a game I can play online against others. And I want to be able to build up my village/town/people over time. (Unlike AoE where you log on, build, fight, then close down).
(edited 10 years ago)
Reply 4
Original post by the wolf at door
Basically, I want a game I can play online against others. And I want to be able to build up my village/town/people over time. (Unlike AoE where you log on, build, fight, then close down).

AOE 3.............Starcraft?
Basically, I used to play Age of Empires quite a few years ago. But haven't really played any strategy game since then. Then I started playing the Clash of Clans on my friends IPad now i'm kind of addicted again.

Preferablly one that doesn't depend on who spends the most real money. So I guess a game that you buy out right.

The king of strategy games is in this thread's title: Civilization. Civilization 5 is an outstanding turn-based strategy game where you take total control over your civilization with the aim of being the first to attain one of several victory conditions, ranging from militaristic to scientific. It has an online multiplayer mode.