Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    I'm studying at Heriot-Watt University in Edinburgh, I'm happy to answer any questions you have about the course, the accommodation (I live in halls) or anything else you want to know.

ReputationRep:
    what do u do in computer sciences? it sounds so interesting

ReputationRep:
    What's your favourite first-year topic?

ReputationRep:
    I am second year Computer Science student and I still don't understand the point of these threads.

ReputationRep:
    What specific field of computer science would you like to work in?

ReputationRep:
    I'm not sure to be honest, it'd be great to work for a huge company like Google or IBM or something, but at the moment I haven't really put much thought into it. I'm sure I'll decide what I want to do at some point, but to be honest I'll probably end up taking the first job I can after I finish uni.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by CJKay)
    I am second year Computer Science student and I still don't understand the point of these threads.

A lot of people have just sent off their UCAS applying for CS and this time last year I had a few questions about the course etc and would have found this thread useful.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Jooooshy)
    What's your favourite first-year topic?

Um, Soft Dev isn't too bad, it can be tricky because I'm a complete beginner in Java, but it's a good feeling when you start to understand things.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by swedgered)
    Um, Soft Dev isn't too bad, it can be tricky because I'm a complete beginner in Java, but it's a good feeling when you start to understand things.
    Did you know any languages before you started?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Jooooshy)
    Did you know any languages before you started?
    I learned TrueBASIC in school and I was pretty good with that but Java's completely different.

ReputationRep: