Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
Turn on thread page Beta

Is it possible to achieve a 2.1 in 3rd year, after getting a 3rd in 2nd? watch

ReputationRep:
    At the moment I am studying LLB Law at Westminster University, and in my 2nd year I achieved 46%, and was wondering if I still have a chance of achieving a 2.1 as my final grade?

Also if your retaking a whole module, i.e going to summer school, can you achieve any grade in that module or is the grade capped at 40%.

Thanks for any info.

ReputationRep:
    Probably not.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Eimakv09)
    At the moment I am studying LLB Law at Westminster University, and in my 2nd year I achieved 46%, and was wondering if I still have a chance of achieving a 2.1 as my final grade?

Also if your retaking a whole module, i.e going to summer school, can you achieve any grade in that module or is the grade capped at 40%.

Thanks for any info.
    Mathematically speaking, depends on the grading weights between 2nd and 3rd year. Assuming it't the usual 33:66 ratio then you need 69% in the 3rd year. Check the regulations. And yes fails are capped to 40. The thing is 3rd year is much harder then 2nd so why do you think you would do better ? (any proper mitigating reasons ?)

ReputationRep:
    Every Uni works out final degree classifications differently, so the only way you'll get an answer to this is asking at your own Uni. No-one here will be able to give you a definite answer.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by dkdeath)
    Mathematically speaking, depends on the grading weights between 2nd and 3rd year. Assuming it't the usual 33:66 ratio then you need 69% in the 3rd year. Check the regulations. And yes fails are capped to 40. The thing is 3rd year is much harder then 2nd so why do you think you would do better ? (any proper mitigating reasons ?)
    This right here.

It's seeming unlikely you'll get a 2.1 but with the right sort of effort, it's possible.