Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

The Transformation of Crisps watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    Right then, it's time for change!

I've basically been saying for years that I need to change my lifestyle, but have never plucked up the courage to do something about it. I'm 26, obese, unfit and really weak for my size. I started off quite well last year, losing 2 stones in about 7 months just by cutting out the rubbish that I eat. However, in the second half of last year I was hit by a few major family problems, including my mother suffering a serious stroke, and as a result I comfort ate and put most of it back on! Oops! So, I've decided that I'm going to make 2014 MY year!

I joined the gym a few weeks ago and I've been given a set exercise plan to follow, which will get changed every 4-6 weeks. As I am a total and utter rookie when it comes to gyms, I'm starting off 'lightly' as my instructor puts it, although some parts I don't find light at all!

My workout is as follows. My primary aim is to lose fat, my secondary aim is to gain strength.

Warm up: 5-10 min on treadmill, gradually increasing speed

Resistance training: Most exercises are paired with another targeting the same muscle group, so I do 1 set on 1 exercise, then immediately jump into the next exercise in that pair without a rest, then take a 90 sec rest before doing it again until I'm done. If a machine isn't available, then I stay on that same exercise and repeat it but with just a 45 sec rest. All the following are for 60 reps, done in either 4x15 or 3x20 sets.

Chest press/pec dec (only on a 10kg weight to start, told you I was weak )

Lateral pull down/pulley (20-30kg weight)

Leg press (50kg weight, not paired with another exercise so done with 45 sec rest between sets)

Leg curl/calf raise (50kg weight)

Shoulder press (20kg weight) /lateral raise (using 5kg dumbbells)