The Student Room Group

Can I complete a degree, THEN apply for Med?

Okay, where to begin ...

I am currently in my 1st year at college completing 4 ASs. I am fairly confident that I can meet the average entry requirements for Med by the end of a2, BUT I have a problem. This problem goes beyond simply achieving 4 grade As/A*s etc.

I haven't got much work experience/ done any voluntary work at all. It's really beginning to frighten me. Let me tell you about my current progress:
I do one week work ex. at an old people's care home near to August.
I also MIGHT (not confirmed yet) be doing 1/2 weeks work ex. at a pharmacy near to August too. PS, Pharmacy is a little useless tbh.

I have done no voluntary work and considering I'm so far into the academic year, I feel like giving up looking for work ex etc. For this year and just focus on getting the grades I want.

Will it be okay if I completed a degree, say for example a biomedical degree, THEN applied for Med? That way, I have longer time to accumulate work ex etc.

My worry is, it may look a little unimpressive. Like, a little indecisive, or it may prove that I was not able to get in the first time etc.

Is this a good idea? Is taking a gap year a better idea? Can you give me as much advice as you possibly can? ALL advice is HUGELY appreciated.

Thank you

Posted from TSR Mobile
Original post by ibn_salim
Okay, where to begin ...

I am currently in my 1st year at college completing 4 ASs. I am fairly confident that I can meet the average entry requirements for Med by the end of a2, BUT I have a problem. This problem goes beyond simply achieving 4 grade As/A*s etc.

I haven't got much work experience/ done any voluntary work at all. It's really beginning to frighten me. Let me tell you about my current progress:
I do one week work ex. at an old people's care home near to August.
I also MIGHT (not confirmed yet) be doing 1/2 weeks work ex. at a pharmacy near to August too. PS, Pharmacy is a little useless tbh.