Magic Circle Rejections - Reapply & Self-funded GDL? Watch

atyau
Badges: 1
Report Thread starter 5 years ago
Hey everyone,

I'm a current Masters student (non-law) here in the UK and did my undergrad at a North American university.

I've recently been applying to training contracts at Magic Circle firms. However, after receiving rejections from A&O and Freshfields without an interview (and pretty sure I'll be getting one from Linklaters), and not receiving an offer after the Clifford Chance Assessment Day, I'm a little lost as to what I should do next. I'm also not sure I'm competitive enough for Slaughter and May since the other four haven't been very positive...

Do you think it's worthwhile to reapply to just the Magic Circles next year? And to fund the GDL by myself for the upcoming year?

The reason why I'm so concerned with getting a TC from a Magic Circle is because from my research, it seems that there's a HUGE difference in terms of training and reputation between the Magic Circle and the other Silver Circle/City firms - after all, it is the Magic Circles who take on the biggest cases from the biggest clients...and I've even heard partners say that essentially, where you start almost determines where you'll be in the near future (unless you make partner one day...) given the economic climate.

If I manage to get a TC with a Silver Circle/City firm (and I honestly don't have much confidence in getting one at this point...) - do you think it's worth pursuing? Will I actually have a chance to move to a Magic Circle/US firm after qualifying? And is the training/development at non-Magic Circles of considerably less quality? If so, is it worth taking a loan to fund the GDL myself and re-apply to the Magic Circles? I'm pretty certain that I want to develop my legal career here in the City.

Thanks!
Key123
Badges: 8
Rep:
?
Report 5 years ago
(Original post by atyau)
Hey everyone,