A Level physics question on capacitors Watch

Mr Cosine
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 6 years ago
Hi everyone, I'm studying A2 Physics and I came across this question from an exercise book which has thrown me a bit. I'll write it out an explain where I'm stuck.

"The diagram shows an RC series circuit with the switch open - I'll edit or post a scan of this circuit from the book later.

- battery has a voltage of 12 V
- a microammeter is connected in series to it
- there is a switch in the circuit
- there is one 1.0 megaohm resistor connected in series
- there is a 22 microfarad capacitor connected in series

a) At the instant the switch is first closed, what is
i) the p.d. across the cap? (it's 0 F - I don't understand why)
ii) the p.d. across the resistor (it's 12 V, the voltage of the battery - that's to be expected I suppose. Current through the resistor decreases proportionately)
iii) the current in the circuit. I = V/R implies that the current is 12/1x10^6 = 12 micro amps. I worked this out myself an it is correct.
iv) the charge on each cap. plate - this is 0 - but I don't see how - unless the electrons haven't actually reached the cap. plates yet

b) What are the same quantities i) - iv) after the switch has been closed and a steady condition reached? - What's a steady condition?

the answers for part b) are respectively

12 V ?
0 V ?
0 A ?
26 mC - I tried to find Q using Q = CV with 2.2x10^-5 F (12 V) = 260 microcoulombs to 2 s.f. = 0.26 mC. The answer in the book is 26 mC - is the book wrong?