The Student Room Group

Would you read Mein Kampf?

Poll

Would you read Mein Kampf?

http://www.theguardian.com/books/2014/jan/09/mein-kampf-ebook-bestseller-adolf-hitler

Having come across an interesting article in the Guardian relating to how popular the E version of Mein Kampf has been i was interested to see whether people on TSR have read it already or would read it, and why?

My personal opinion is that yes, i would read it. It's an important historical artifact and while the Nazi's were bad i suspect that it delivers a different perspective to the one generally received given that as the old saying goes.. "history is written by the victors".

Please note that i do not allow anybody to pollute my threads with trolling or personal insults. If you disagree with somebody you will debate with them or ignore them, the alternative is that i report your posts and they are likely deleted no matter who started it.

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
Yes, I'm a history student and as such I love history and learning new things in History etc. I haven't read it but I'm sure I will undoubtedly read it at some point in my life, especially since Nazi Germany is my favorite topic of learning and it's of course undoubtedly a very important piece of history.

How many pages is it though?
Reply 2
I've read it. It's pretty lengthy but really unenjoyable. The whole thing is incessant, dull ramblings which even Mussolini called boring.
Reply 3
Yes I would like to read it. It's an infamous book and a real insight into how one of the world's most recognisable figures thought.
Reply 4
I have read it and I would only recommend it to people I don't like. It's poorly written and unbelievably boring.
I'm friends with a book seller who had an original print version. He refused to sell it for a reasonable price, then ended up getting rid as part of a bulk deal for next to nothing. I'd have well bought that! :angry:
Reply 6