Are/were you a "danger to yourself and others" at UWIC?

Watch
jonathanbishop
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 7 years ago
Hi,

I was a student at Cardiff Metropolitan University (UWIC). I had a medical condition I did not want to disclose to them because I thought they would not be able to understand it.

When I did disclose it they said I was "a danger to myself and others" and because I would not allow them access to my medical records they withdrew me from my course.

As I understand it, even if I were actually a "danger to myself and others" because of my disability surely the university still have to provide me with an education as it would be disability discrimination to do otherwise?

I have put those links above because when I wrote about my own situation on my own blog, UWIC's solicitors threatened to sue me for defamation if I did not remove them, but hopefully they can't do that here.

Would be helpful to hear if others have had similar problems, as it is kind of head-banging how this can happen when the law would suggest it shouldn't be allowed to.
Klix88
Badges: 17
Rep:
?
Report 7 years ago
(Original post by jonathanbishop)
As I understand it, even if I were actually a "danger to myself and others" because of my disability surely the university still have to provide me with an education as it would be disability discrimination to do otherwise?
Their legal position would be based on their belief that you posed a genuine danger to other students and staff. That being the case, they would be putting many people in harm's way by allowing you to continue on your course. This would leave the uni open to legal action if you actually did injure others at some point.

It seems to be a position where the rights of the many can't be over-ridden by the rights of the few.