Danderlilly
Badges: 7
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 6 years ago
Hey, I'm wanting to know if anyone can help me or can shed some light on my situation.

I am a Scottish student applying to an English University and have been made a conditional offer.

My basic question is will SAAS help pay my 9k tuition for University for the 4 years I will be there???

I have previously studied a HNC/HND but that was Art and Design.
I now want to go to university to study Korean, a completely different subject area. I checked a pdf by SAAS and it said that if a student changes a subject area of study then they can be entitled to full payment of their new course if it's a different subject area. (All to so with new '+1' system) Regardless if they have previously studied a HNC/D.

I have tried phoning SAAS but i get no luck either i get passed to the wrong person, or i'm left on the phone for hours (exaggeration). I still keep trying but no luck.

Much help would be appreciated to anyone and everyone.
mythtakes
Badges: 1
Rep:
?
Report 6 years ago
They will only pay tuition fees if you are studying in Scotland: https://www.saas.gov.uk/full_time/ug..._available.htm. What you've said about changing course is correct, yes (check example 7 here as it applies to you: https://www.saas.gov.uk/_forms/previous_study.pdf). You'll be entitled to a loan/bursary, but not tuition fees.
Danderlilly
Rep:
?
(Original post by mythtakes)
They will only pay tuition fees if you are studying in Scotland: https://www.saas.gov.uk/full_time/ug..._available.htm. What you've said about changing course is correct, yes (check example 7 here as it applies to you: https://www.saas.gov.uk/_forms/previous_study.pdf). You'll be entitled to a loan/bursary, but not tuition fees.
I'm a little confused now (Got through to someone at SAAS)
They said i would be entitled to payment for just years 2,3 and 4 and that i would have to pay my university 9k fees for 1st year??