Is university status or individual achievement more important? Watch

Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 5 years ago
Hello

I'm a first year student at Aston University in Birmingham studying Politics and International Relations. I don't like Aston, and I have the option of transferring to Surrey for the second year. I applied there because I nearly adjusted up to it on results day last year, and I've been to the place and it seems pretty good. Regardless of my short term instincts, I'm interested to know what my employment prospects are following graduation from either of these universities. Here is what I know so far:

Surrey is a higher ranking university, so presumably my prospects are better.

On the other hand, I would be throwing away some opportunities by bailing out on Aston. I can potentially be in charge of a society next year if I stay, I can be a Peer Mentor and be a Student Ambassador. At Surrey I'd be new and therefore I probably wouldn't be able to stride in and do stuff like that.

I think this boils down to one question - is the status of a university or individual achievement more important?

Thanks
Rob
Rep:
?
Thanks for your advice, that's interesting. How much weight do you think the three things I mentioned (in charge of a society, peer mentor and student ambassador) will hold?
SmaugTheTerrible
Badges: 15
Rep:
?
Report 5 years ago
(Original post by RobB)
Hello

I'm a first year student at Aston University in Birmingham studying Politics and International Relations. I don't like Aston, and I have the option of transferring to Surrey for the second year. I applied there because I nearly adjusted up to it on results day last year, and I've been to the place and it seems pretty good. Regardless of my short term instincts, I'm interested to know what my employment prospects are following graduation from either of these universities. Here is what I know so far: