Liamnut
Badges: 12
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 6 years ago
Does anyone have any idea how to answer this?

4) You are catering for 16 people and provide 4 vegetarian and 12 non-vegetarian meals. (Hint: you are assuming that the probability someone is a vegetarian is 4/16 ie 0.25) You can answer this with Excel using the function ‘Statistical’ and then ‘BINOMDIST’ option. Or, you can answer it using statistical tables.
a) What is the probability that you will have at least one disappointed guest? (You know that the meat-eaters do not like the vegetarian option.)
b) What is the probability that all the disappointed guests will be vegetarians?
c) Suppose you were to provide 17 meals for 16 guests. Would it be more sensible to provide an extra vegetarian meal or non-vegetarian? Show your reasoning.
d) How does your decision in part c.) affect the probability of disappointment?

Please don't just give me the anwsers I just don't know where to start.

I'm studying economics at southampton.

Thank you
davros
  • Study Helper
Badges: 16
Rep:
?
Report 6 years ago
(Original post by Liamnut)
Does anyone have any idea how to answer this?

4) You are catering for 16 people and provide 4 vegetarian and 12 non-vegetarian meals. (Hint: you are assuming that the probability someone is a vegetarian is 4/16 ie 0.25) You can answer this with Excel using the function ‘Statistical’ and then ‘BINOMDIST’ option. Or, you can answer it using statistical tables.
a) What is the probability that you will have at least one disappointed guest? (You know that the meat-eaters do not like the vegetarian option.)
b) What is the probability that all the disappointed guests will be vegetarians?
c) Suppose you were to provide 17 meals for 16 guests. Would it be more sensible to provide an extra vegetarian meal or non-vegetarian? Show your reasoning.
d) How does your decision in part c.) affect the probability of disappointment?

Please don't just give me the anwsers I just don't know where to start.