The Student Room Group

Need some advice regarding FURTHER MATHS?

Hi all,

I am currently studying at an independent school and am ranked at 6th in the year for Maths. My maths teacher would recommend that I take FM as would the head of the maths department

HOWEVER the head of academics recommended specifically that I don't take FM next year. This is due to a VERY low maths Midyis score which suggests that FM is out of reach for my 'simple' mind especially at A2 where I could possibly hit a brick wall perhaps at the FP2 and FP3 modules which could potentially compromise my entire FM A Level.

My parents are also discouraging me (every single conversation I have with them involves a question like, 'do you understand how difficult FM is?') as they think that picking FM may compromise my other A Levels (maths, physics and economics). I want to apply for economics at Cam, UCL, King's, Warwick and Edinburgh so I understand that not having FM could hurt my chances of admission.

I am currently averaging at 97.5% in iGCSE maths papers which although is quite high, I have been informed that A Level is a completely different ball game?

Suggestions?
Do it. You can always drop it after AS if you are struggling, and at AS the modules are generally very simple since they are the other 2 AS/ A2 Maths modules (e.g. M1 and D1) and FP1 (which is a bit more challenging but not that bad if you put a bit of effort into it).

Further Maths will make 'normal' Maths really easy so won't be too much extra work on top of your other A levels. It also ties in very well with Physics and to a lesser extent Economics - so will help you in all your other subjects :smile:
For Cambridge, FM is 'highly recommended' - i.e. basically essential if your school offers it, and if you don't take it you'll have a lot of catching up to do at uni. For your other unis they are less likely to require it, but it would make your application much stronger as well as reducing your workload at uni.