The Student Room Group
Reply 1
Do you meet the entry requirements? Not all courses accept lower grades, so you need to aim for somewhere that might accept you. Similarly, if the course requires a foundation course they're unlikely to let you in without.

You'll need a really strong portfolio. You might struggle with this if you do only science A Levels, as you won't produce anything useable from your lessons. You also don't have a teacher to guide you.

It's not a definite no, but is risky and you need to plan carefully.
Can you not apply to the same uni, like phone them up to change you to the course? I did so. Even though it was from English to Classics... They still accepted it my request to change... I have no knowledge of classical civilization, archeology, history or ancient history or even an A-level in a language... So it might be possible. My PS was about English Lit and a lot about Language and Child Acquisition. Although I do study Philosophy at A-level. But you never know!
Original post by Blueshinewolf
I'm wondering if I could apply to do graphic design through clearing (and get in), even though I have science and language A Levels, and a personal statement geared toward zoology? I'd have a bunch of stuff (e.g. voluntary work, work experience, personal projects, etc.) to say in attempt to convince them >_> Would it work, or should I just give up on the idea? :/

Usually, it's possible to switch courses via clearing.

However, for courses like graphic design, universities will often want to see some evidence of a portfolio to show you have the ability and range of skills needed to cope with the course. This can make it harder to get in via clearing, especially if you've not had any formal art/graphics teaching for at least the past few years.