The Student Room Group

Is Uni significantly harder than college?

I'm currently studying an access course with an online distance learning college and I have to do all the work myself, I'm not spoon fed the answers or given easier explanations of the questions. I've probably done 95% of the work all by my self without having to ask for my tutor's help and so far I have received one merit the rest are distinctions so I'm doing pretty well with minimal help, will Uni be the same or even harder?

I'm really worried about the work being really hard at Uni even though I'm doing really well at my access course all by myself.
Original post by porcelainwhite
I'm currently studying an access course with an online distance learning college and I have to do all the work myself, I'm not spoon fed the answers or given easier explanations of the questions. I've probably done 95% of the work all by my self without having to ask for my tutor's help and so far I have received one merit the rest are distinctions so I'm doing pretty well with minimal help, will Uni be the same or even harder?

I'm really worried about the work being really hard at Uni even though I'm doing really well at my access course all by myself.

It really depends on your subject. If you are used to self study, this aspect of uni won't be as hard as for other students who are used to being spoon fed. However, you can probably expect either the course content to be harder or the quantity may be harder than what your current college work, especially in later years, but every year is a step up and you learn to adjust :smile:
I did an Access Course too last year, and am now at Uni having started in September.