Reputation in Europe: Bath v Bristol v Durham v Strathclyde v St Andrews (Finance) Watch

GSAA
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 5 years ago
Hi,

I'm a European student and will return to my home country after completing my MSc. I have offers for the following programmes:

Bath, MSc Finance
Bristol, MSc Finance and Investment
Durham, MSc Finance
Strathclyde, MSc Finance
St Andrews, Msc Finance

I'm leaning towards Strathclyde because it's the best business school in Scotland and better ranked than Cambridge and LSE (Financial Times).

Do these unis have strong differences regarding European reputation?

Thanks in advance for any advice.
Tcannon
Badges: 18
Rep:
?
Report 5 years ago
Business faculty (not parent uni's brand) of aforementioned unis:

Bristol/ Bath/ Strathclyde (depending on concentration) > Durham/St Andrews

Bristol has only small B-School with few concentrations, but Finance, Accounting and econ are strong and well regarded.

Bath has a larger well balanced BSchool and as a Technical Uni, it is strong in analytical subjects such as OR, business analysis and Comp. Good exchange networks and dual programmes with other Euro unis. Good student satisfaction and its 4 year Business BA offers the 1 year internship option with partner firms. So business & engineering grads choose career concentration and achieve very high employment rates upon graduation. Strong cooperation with the industry. Tech firms like R&R, BAe dig Bath.

Strathclyde earns high marks for ROI, affordable tuition for home students and innovative multi-learning platform (lecture, case, group based projects, real life consulting assignment and experimental learning). Good student satisfaction and good review for marketing, finance, acc, OR, HRM. It offers depth and width.

Durham and St Andrews are known for good traditional unis, BUT business is not the strongest discipline and the faculty is kinda small with few electives available. Both unis are better known for other subjects.
GSAA