Dentistry : GCSE Options Watch

Frodokins
Badges: 16
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 5 years ago
Hello, I am new to TSR and in the process of picking my GCSEs
I would like to do Dentistry or Pharmacy in the future
I just wanted to see if the options I am choosing would get me to Dentistry/Pharmacy and if you had any advice or experiences in regards to the subjects

Potential line up
- English Literature
- English Language
- Maths
-Triple science
-R.e
-Art or Art textiles
- Geography
- History
- Spanish or German

Thank You!
Lokiofasgard
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report 5 years ago
To be quite honest, what you do at GCSE does not really affect university options and courses. However, what you've chosen looks good
Chlorophile
  • Study Helper
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 5 years ago
(Original post by Frodokins)
X
As long as you're doing triple or double science, your GCSE choice is absolutely irrelevant. As long as you can get good grades, you're fine.
ellawhite4686
Badges: 8
Rep:
?
Report 5 years ago
gcse choices don't particularly make a difference, but id say triple science is very important, as you will probably need to do at least biology and chemistry at a level.

i do both history and re and love them! they're really good subjects, and many of my friends enjoy geography too.
just be weary about taking three humanities as you may find it a lot of essay writing, and if your skills lie in the sciences, this may not be ideal for you! if you love writing essays etc go for it !
my advice would possibly be to change one of them to a language so you end up with two humanities and two languages? i do french and spanish, and love spanish (I'm going to do it at a level)

id also give some advice about art that it is quite a heavy workload, but if you enjoy it then that shouldn't be too bad, but as long as you're good at it it shouldn't be a problem, but i wouldn't just throw it in as an extra if you weren't that keen!

hope this helps
AspiringMedic8
Badges: 12
Rep:
?
Report 5 years ago