The Student Room Group

Video games art, or a foundation year?

Currently I really want to do a Video Games Art course at a University (Not sure which one yet, I've been looking at about seven different Universities) but before I do, I was wondering if it would benefit me to do an art foundation year beforehand?
At the moment I'm still doing my ASs, so I've got about a year until I need to make a definite decision but I want to explore as many possibilities as possible before I choose. So is it worth doing an art foundation year, or should I just go straight to Uni?

Thank you! Abi
Reply 1
Hello Abi,
I'm a student on Game Art at DMU, arguably the best course of it's kind in the country and having studied here for a year now I would strongly recommend it. Regarding your question, yes I would recommend doing an Art foundation.
The only way this would not be of benefit to you is if you are already a fairly strong artist and you feel you're ready for university. This was the case for me but only because I took 2 years out of education between school and college and then another year out to build up savings.
There is no rush and the more prepared and sure of yourself you are when you go to uni, the more you'll be able to make of it.
Work your ASs off and good luck! :smile:
Reply 2