The Student Room Group

Mortgages

Hi,

I am a mature student (21) who is going to Medical school this September - I have about 70k in savings atm and am looking to use these to make my time at uni cost-neutral (Excluding student loan debt)

I was hoping to take out a residential mortgage on a property and then pay the monthly payments using the rent from fellow students I would share the property with (Following maths and research am expecting approx 15k per annum in rent) then use the surplus to live off

The problem is, without a sustained employment income - I can't get a residential mortgage, and I can't get a buy-to-let because I intend to live in the house!!

Any recommendations?

Thanks,
Original post by FergieD

Any recommendations?

Thanks,

Yes: think again. You'll never get a mortgage without an income from either a job or a proven record of letting properties over several years, unless you can con someone who is in such a position to guarantee it.
Reply 2
Original post by FergieD
Hi,

I am a mature student (21) who is going to Medical school this September - I have about 70k in savings atm and am looking to use these to make my time at uni cost-neutral (Excluding student loan debt)

I was hoping to take out a residential mortgage on a property and then pay the monthly payments using the rent from fellow students I would share the property with (Following maths and research am expecting approx 15k per annum in rent) then use the surplus to live off

The problem is, without a sustained employment income - I can't get a residential mortgage, and I can't get a buy-to-let because I intend to live in the house!!

Any recommendations?

Thanks,