Is psychology bull****?

Watch
Zedboy97
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 6 years ago
I studied psychology for six lessons when starting college. After just six lessons, I quit, I was sick to the bone (or mind) of the constant Freudian crap that the teacher kept spouting. The books I read on psychology all went along similar lines of dreams, subconscious and sex-drive. The three main parts of a mind. I am just wondering how a subject like psychology exists in the modern world with its almost mystic guess work?
alow
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report 6 years ago
Only the majority of it.
interstitial
Badges: 18
Rep:
?
Report 6 years ago
Derren Brown tho.

Posted from TSR Mobile
Solemn Rain
Badges: 15
Rep:
?
Report 6 years ago
No, Psychology has its own merits. Though, I would never rate it above Maths, Physics, Chemistry or Biology
Zedboy97
Rep:
?
(Original post by majmuh24)
Derren Brown tho.

Posted from TSR Mobile
LOL
Philbert
Rep:
?
Report 6 years ago
Well, a lot of the studies nowadays use only students as subjects. Think of that what you will.
interstitial
Rep:
?
Report 6 years ago
(Original post by Zedboy97)
LOL
That guy scares me.

Posted from TSR Mobile
ThatPerson
Rep:
?
Report 6 years ago
There is a definite problem with publication bias within psychology. I wouldn't go so far as to say that it's all crap, only that a lot of results can't easily be replicated.
alow
Rep:
?
Report 6 years ago
Derren Brown tho.

Posted from TSR Mobile
What a lad. I'm terrified he could make me murder someone though :lol:
interstitial
Rep:
?
Report 6 years ago
(Original post by alow)
What a lad. I'm terrified he could make me murder someone though :lol:
I've read his books and the stuff he says in them seems very scientific, but I expect there is some trickery involved. Still need to watch that one :lol:.

Posted from TSR Mobile
mynameisntbobk
Rep:
?
Report 6 years ago
'Advice on everyday issues'

Very relevant
alow
Rep:
?
Report 6 years ago