Help I have been refused student finance for the first year!

Watch
Heidimoore
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 7 years ago
I have been refused because I have completed a HNC in Business in 2004 which I paid for by myself. I am a mature student wanting to complete a 3 year full time degree from Sept 2014 and they have said that they will only provide funding for year 2 and 3. I have looked at various websites to check to see if this correct and it says 'If you’ve previously studied a higher-education course you’re generally not able to get support for a new course of an equivalent or lower qualification' but this is for a higher qualification so I do not understand. Please advise, thanks for your help. Heidi
cheesepie
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report 7 years ago
Please someone with more knowledge correct me. I think it goes something like this. If you're doing a higher degree, they'll fund you for 4 years - any number of years you've done a degree for.

My situation is very similar. I did a degree in Australia so no student loan and they'll give me a tuition fee loan for 4 - 3 = 1 year. The result - I can't afford to re-train and with £9000 tuition fees, I can't see that many second degreers ever could. You can get a career development loan for up to £10000 (not sure if that's per year or overall), but there's no earnings link so you have to pay it back as soon as you've done your degree.

I doubt I'll get anywhere, but I'll look for any route of appear and write to my Mr. MP. Meanwhile, it looks like I'll have to save up and apply again in another 5+ years time. I met someone on this forum who was looking at having to save $340000.

Good luck and be string. If you get anywhere, please let me know.
cheesepie
Rep:
?
Report 7 years ago
PS http://www.direct.gov.uk/prod_consum.../dg_201332.pdf
Heidimoore
Rep:
?
(Original post by cheesepie)