YousufAli96
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 7 years ago
I am hoping to study computer science at univerisity and i am currently studying IT, Geography and Graphics... Would i find it hard to study computer science at uni?
YousufAli96
Rep:
?
(Original post by Andinet)
I studied ICT, Art and Maths at A-Level, and am doing Computer Science at Uni - I haven't found it too challenging yet, although I am only in my first year! The fact that you're doing IT at the moment should mean that you won't have a problem
What kind of Maths related topics do you have to know or have a good understanding about for CS
jamesk93
Rep:
?
Report 7 years ago
Some Computer Science courses require you to have done A level Maths.

I applied to Lancaster to do Computer Science and they accepted me but university of Leeds on the other hand didn't allow me on because they said I would find the course too hard because I hadn't done A level Maths.

They gave me the option to do Information Technology in September so I'm probably going to go for that. It has a lot of the same modules as CS except it isnt really that mathematical.

Basically, look at the modules of the course and see how much maths are in each module. Lancaster doesnt seem to rely too heavily on Maths which will be the same for other universities but on the other hand, some will require you to be good at maths.
donutaud15
Badges: 22
Rep:
?
Report 7 years ago
my husband didn't have maths a level and failed physics but still got in for computer science. to be fair though he did computing for a level and he had been programming for a while. he showed that he was passionate about it so he got in I suppose.

Posted from TSR Mobile
YousufAli96
Rep:
?
(Original post by jamesk93)
Some Computer Science courses require you to have done A level Maths.