how to study maths?

Watch this thread
nohomo
Badges: 5
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report Thread starter 8 years ago
This is purely to study mathematics for my own interest, not for a qualification.

My current approach is to copy out the book I am studying. I did this with Three Pearls of Number Theory by A Y Khinchin, but I don't feel like it really sunk in.

I struggle a lot with concentration. Is copying out the Textbook just a complete waste of time, beaeing in mind I don't have the concentration to read my notes afterwards?
davros
Badges: 16
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report 8 years ago
(Original post by nohomo)
This is purely to study mathematics for my own interest, not for a qualification.

My current approach is to copy out the book I am studying. I did this with Three Pearls of Number Theory by A Y Khinchin, but I don't feel like it really sunk in.

I struggle a lot with concentration. Is copying out the Textbook just a complete waste of time, beaeing in mind I don't have the concentration to read my notes afterwards?
Copying out a textbook isn't studying!

Read the textbook, then do the exercises to test your understanding.
TenOfThem
Badges: 18
Rep:
Report 8 years ago
(Original post by davros)
Copying out a textbook isn't studying!

Read the textbook, then do the exercises to test your understanding.
I really must Rate Some Other Members

You are the third PRSOM I have had today
davros
Rep:
Report 8 years ago
(Original post by TenOfThem)
I really must Rate Some Other Members

You are the third PRSOM I have had today
No worries.

I get enough reward from knowing that I am the voice of sanity in many of these threads
Smaug123
Badges: 15
Rep:
Report 8 years ago
(Original post by nohomo)