sjbrighter
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 7 years ago
I'm a student in the postgraduate archaeology program at Sheffield. Ask me anything!
Caorann
Rep:
?
Report 7 years ago
I'm in the process of choosing between Sheffield, Glasgow, and York for my masters. Can you tell me a bit about the atmosphere in the department, opportunities to volunteer for archaeological work, facilities, and if there's an active archaeology student society. I'm coming from Canada and while I'd love to visit in advance of deciding, it's just not feasible.

I had also heard that the department had lost a number of faculty - has that negatively affected things?

Any information you can offer would be great!
sjbrighter
Rep:
?
(Original post by Caorann)
I'm in the process of choosing between Sheffield, Glasgow, and York for my masters. Can you tell me a bit about the atmosphere in the department, opportunities to volunteer for archaeological work, facilities, and if there's an active archaeology student society. I'm coming from Canada and while I'd love to visit in advance of deciding, it's just not feasible.

I had also heard that the department had lost a number of faculty - has that negatively affected things?

Any information you can offer would be great!

Hiya!

I'll try to answer everything in order; the atmosphere is very welcoming, it is one of the first things that I noticed when I came here. There is actually a kind of reception office in the main archaeology building and there is absolutely no limit on how many newbie questions, directions to places, or general help, which was really useful for me. For example, I was able to get some guidance when I was dealing with my father's cancer during finals. They were pretty nice and have systems in place to accommodate every possible situation.