The Student Room Group

Philosophy

The course chosen for my degree is Philosophy but I have heard many things about it being less-respected than other degrees and of course I would like a degree that is respected and not looked down upon, do you guys agree that it's a bad course?
Reply 1
The degree itself is well respected, but has poor job prospects. The skils it teaches you however, are very useful for the world of work.
Reply 2
Thank you both!!!! It was between Physics and Philosophy so which do you reckon would be the better one?
What do you want to do?
Reply 4
Original post by samthemiller
What do you want to do?

Philosophy right now but that could just be as I have done A-Level Physics but never done Philosophy so idk!!!!
Reply 5
I won't agree with that, there is time for everything. Proceed with the course, no knowledge is wasted.
Reply 6
I disagree with what you've heard. From personal experience, whenever I tell someone I do philosophy they pull and impressed face as if to say "wow, that's hard". I think people are under the impression it's very challenging (it is), mind-boggling and only for the super-smart, so it's respected in that sense.

But I think some people also think that while all that may be, it's also "useless" for finding a job and learning anything that will help in a career or future life. I can see where they're coming from, but I find philosophy to be a valuable subject. I can't (or don't really want to) put it into words, but philosophy has really stretched me and educated me on a number of things that no other subject could have ever done (I also do it with Psychology, though).

It's not a waste. It doesn't lead to anything specific, but neither does something like English literature or History, if you think about it. With these subjects, you use transferrable skills in any career you intend to continue with post-uni.