The Student Room Group

Should I be embarrassed about learning in an Automatic car?

I've had approximately 30 lessons in a manual car but I can't seem to get the hang of it. I'll approach some situations really well but then the traffic will hit and because I'm concentrating on the clutch and changing gears everything goes wrong. Clearly, I'm not very good at multi-tasking at that level.
My dad ( who's reluctantly paying for all of these lessons) is trying to persuade me to change to automatic because he wants me to pass before I go to University in September.
Some people have told me to stick with manual because it's embarrassing only being able to drive automatic.

Scroll to see replies

Nothing wrong with driving an automatic (I do)

It's an unnecessary action to change gears manually when autoboxs these days are so good
you'll get a few idiots thinking that they're better than you since they drive manual

but other than that nobody is really gonna care

i have a friend who passed on automatic, she's cool with it, im cool with it. the main downside from what i gather is that automatic cars are more expensive
Original post by PurpleSquid
you'll get a few idiots thinking that they're better than you since they drive manual

but other than that nobody is really gonna care

i have a friend who passed on automatic, she's cool with it, im cool with it. the main downside from what i gather is that automatic cars are more expensive

More expensive
Older autos were crap (can OP afford a newer car?)
Can only drive an automatic (will she need to drive other cars?)

But yes the only people who "care" aren't worth knowing

Thinking they are boy racer ..
Original post by jusdorange
Nothing wrong with driving an automatic (I do)

It's an unnecessary action to change gears manually when autoboxs these days are so good

Well that's what I thought, but does it not make you look incompetent when the majority of the UK drive manual?
Original post by KatherineThorne