Join TSR now and chat about whatever you’re intoSign up now

ReputationRep:
    Hi,

I have some HTML, CSS and PHP skills, and I want to put it to good use.

I want to buy my own domain and host it, and I have no experience whatsoever.

Firstly, if I code the website in an IDE, then how do I upload this code.

Where can I buy a good package? I want to code the website myself, and I don't mind paying.

Ideally, I want to build websites for myself to show my portfolio.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by po10tial)
    Hi,

I have some HTML, CSS and PHP skills, and I want to put it to good use.

I want to buy my own domain and host it, and I have no experience whatsoever.

Firstly, if I code the website in an IDE, then how do I upload this code.

Where can I buy a good package? I want to code the website myself, and I don't mind paying.

Ideally, I want to build websites for myself to show my portfolio.
    I'm no web dev, but I've had some experience.

I've gotten by without fancy IDEs, notepad++ does the job for me. So you've got the right idea on getting yourself a domain & hosting. Once you purchase hosting, you'll be given login details to a certain aspect of your domain, which is typically www.yourdomain.com/cpanel - you login to your cPanel and you can configure lots of stuff there.

From your cPanel you can set yourself an FTP account, so you have an FTP account with a username&password. You then grab yourself a nice little FTP client like CoreFTP (free) and enter your website's details, including that new FTP's username&password. Once you've logged in, you drag&drop files from your computer to the server (your website's directory). You would typically dump them in the public_html directory. Alternatively, there is a file manager within your website's cPanel where you can (rather long woundedly) upload files straight from there.