Noname24
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 5 years ago
Hi there,

I'm currently studying Geography for my third and final year at the University of Nottingham; I graduate in June. I am contemplating undertaking a law conversion course but I have a few questions that need answering.

My overall ambition is to practice law in the USA, however, I'm a little mystified as to the process I must forgo in achieving this.
- I presume I must complete a GDL, then either an LPC or BPTC?
- Do I then seek to complete an LLM?
- Are there certain universities better suited in accomplishing this end goal?
- I understand there are different laws in different states, so what must be done to transfer to different states should I wish to do so?

I've done vague searches on Google but the forums seem to be the most informative. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

I thank you in advance.
jelly1000
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 5 years ago
(Original post by Noname24)
Hi there,

I'm currently studying Geography for my third and final year at the University of Nottingham; I graduate in June. I am contemplating undertaking a law conversion course but I have a few questions that need answering.

My overall ambition is to practice law in the USA, however, I'm a little mystified as to the process I must forgo in achieving this.
- I presume I must complete a GDL, then either an LPC or BPTC?
- Do I then seek to complete an LLM?
- Are there certain universities better suited in accomplishing this end goal?
- I understand there are different laws in different states, so what must be done to transfer to different states should I wish to do so?

I've done vague searches on Google but the forums seem to be the most informative. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

I thank you in advance.
Assuming you aren't a US passport holder: