Open University Psychology degree - feeling disheartened :(

Watch
Loubelle87
Badges: 1
Report Thread starter 7 years ago
Hi

I've been feeling really down recently about my progress on my course. I'm studying towards the Bsc Psychology degree and I'm 3/4 way through my second level 2 course. For my first level 2 course (Counselling), which isn't a core module, I got a grade 3 pass which, I understand, is the equivalent to a 2:2.

My current level 2 course (Exploring Psychology) is a compulsory module and I've so far got 2 TMAs in the 2:1 bracket (over 70% albeit just) and 2 TMAs in the 2:2 bracket (over 60%). I have two TMAs left to complete and an exam in June.

I feel like I am on my way to getting another 2:2 overall result for this module.

I'm studying this degree to hopefully go onto a Masters in Forensic Psychology and later become a forensic psychologist.

I'm currently 26 (nearly 27) years old and by the time I complete this, I'll be 30. I'm working full time in a very demanding job and I'm also planning a wedding. Life is really getting in the way of studying at the moment and I find myself so tired that I can't face picking up the books and facing pages and pages of text. I'm trying to dedicate more time but since finding out the OU marking system is different to other universities (!) I've become disheartened in realising I'm actually not doing as well as I thought.

I guess what I'm trying to say is that Im' worried my ambition will fall flat on it's face as I am feeling too average to succeed and a 2:2 isn't going to get me onto a Masters course let alone a job in forensics. I don't want to jack it in, and I won't, but I just wandered if anyone else has felt this way in their studies? I've spoken to my fiance and parents about it but I'd really like to hear how other OU students cope with this.

Also, does anyone know why the marking system is different?

Thanks

Louise
shooks
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report 7 years ago
(Original post by Loubelle87)
Hi