Graduate Medicine entry eg: Imperial College Watch

telomerase
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 5 years ago
Hello,
I registered on this forum once again. I successfully freed myself from the TSR addiction 4 years ago, but now I returned.

I am in a dreadful situation: suddenly I lost my motivation to study

So here I am again.

But now on topic:
I am studying Engineering (IT, ET) with Economics. I will complete this BSc degree in 2015 with good, but probably not very good grades. I will also complete a/an MSc in Medical Systems Engineering at the same time.

Meanwhile I will also have completed a hand full of basic modules regarding biology, chemistry and physiology, especially regarding neurology.

I cannot look back at a road of victory plastered with many great achievements. Besides being member of a debating club and a student#s connection I didn't volunteer in anything. I am quite active politically as an independent, but my views are unpopular in this day and age, too conservative, so I will probably not even mention it in the essay. I have some recognition in sports, but nothing special. Nothing shiny; no gold or silver medals. No bronze either, actually. My only pride is my own company that currently barely sustains itself (it certainly doesn't sustain me) and a 1st place in a robotics competition.

Thing is: I want to apply to a 4-5 year graduate entry medical programme. While any university would work, I somehow feel to gravitate towards Imperial College, London.

There are loads of resources regarding "How are my chances for x" in the undergraduate section... but how is the situation for us academia-veterans?

Medicine is probably as competitive as it always was, even for us. Maybe even especially for us. I do not know. While I am German and also study in Germany, I wish to study in the UK, as the graduate programme in Medicine is shorter than here. Currently time is my most valuable resource.