noobynoo
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 5 years ago
I did a maths degree and its one of those courses you could quite easily teach yourself given the textbooks or watching the lectures on YouTube. Also, you can learn a lot of physics by watching the Professor Susskind Physics lectures on YouTube. A lot of people teach themselves foreign languages.

But what about medicine? Is it possible to teach yourself this up to a graduate standard? Not to get a degree just for "fun"? I would like to be able to have enough knowledge to do some research into the common cold or allergies for example or just learn more about it. Or diagnose medical conditions. I'm also interested in genetics and DNA.

Do you know any free course notes or YouTube lectures that someone could learn medicine? Are there any good introductory books? Also, how is biology different to medicine? Which one tells you more about DNA?

So what do you think? Is medicine too difficult to teach yourself? What practical skills would you acquire after having learnt it?
NothingToSeeHere
Badges: 6
Rep:
?
Report 5 years ago
Probably not. It's not just about learning from textbooks. There's anatomy and lab work that'll need to be undertaken and you might need to be moderated as well.

Why do you want to self teach such a rigorous course?

Posted from TSR Mobile
Dilzo999
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report 5 years ago
Probably, with the internet you can teach yourself almost anything.
Clip
Badges: 17
Rep:
?
Report 5 years ago
If you ever decide to become a pilot, please let me know before I book any flights.
shiggydiggy
Badges: 10
Rep:
?
Report 5 years ago
There is no reason why you can't teach yourself about all kinds of diseases, their pathophysiology, symptoms, management etc but a huge part of medicine is pure experience. For example, it's all well and good reading about abdominal guarding, but feeling it with your own hands a hundred times is another thing.
noobynoo
Rep:
?